The BWH Minority Faculty Career Development Award is granted annually to early-career underrepresented in medicine (UIM) academicians.


Minority Faculty Career Development Award (MFCDA)

The CDI acknowledges the work of our diverse Faculty and Trainees with a number of awards.

Established in 1996, the BWH Minority Faculty Career Development Award (MFCDA) is granted annually to early-career underrepresented in medicine (UIM) academicians.  It is designed to assist in supporting their work and career progression at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and at Harvard Medical School. The MFCDA is a mentored career development award of $100,000 which is paid out over a 5-year period and is not renewable. This award is an important part of BWH’s efforts to increase the representation of UIM physicians and scientists in the fellowship programs and faculty positions at BWH.

Eligibility Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be a member of a group underrepresented in medicine at BWH (UIM1)
  • Be a US citizen or non-citizen national with a permanent residence visa
  • Hold a primary appointment at BWH
  • Receive a paycheck from BWH or BPO
  • Be a full-time faculty member in their first faculty position at BWH within their first seven years of their appointment
  • Hold an MD, MD/PhD, PhD, or equivalent degree
  • Commit to a career in academic medicine
  • Commit a minimum of 75% professional effort (of a full-time position) to their career development plan
*Underrepresented in medicine (UIM) means those racial and ethnic and populations that are underrepresented in the medical profession relative to their numbers in the general population [Adopted by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Executive Committee, March 19, 2004]. Per AAMC, at BWH, UIM is defined as African American/Black, Hispanic American, Latina/Latino, Alaskan/Hawaiian Native and Native American. 
Application Procedures

The essential elements of the application for early-career UIM academicians are an individualized, well-thought -out career development plan; a committed, capable mentor; and a commitment on the part of the applicant’s Division/Department to the development of the applicant.


The application period for 2024 has closed. Stay tuned for updates about the 2025 application period! 

Past Award Recipients

2023 Sharlay K. Butler, MD, MPH 

2023 Christian Jacome-Galarza, PhD

2023 Luke M. Messac, MD, PhD

2023 Nicolette J. Rodriguez, MD, MPH

2023 Fatima G. Wilder, MD

2022 Ayobami Akenroye, MBChB, MPH

2022 Idalid Franco, MD, MPH

2022 Luis Nicolas Gonzalez Castro, MD, PhD

2022 Shaina A. Lipa, MD, MPH

2022 Gezzer Ortega, MD, MPH

2021 Margee Louisias, MD, MPH
2021 George Molina, MD, MPH
2020 Hermioni Amonoo, MD
2020 Alexander Arriaga, MD, PhD
2019 Ana Paula Abreu Metzger, MD, PhD
2019 Kathryn Hall, PhD
2017 Carolina Bibbo, MD
2017 Dorlan Kimbrough, MD
2016 Viviany Taqueti, MD, MPH                          
2016 Joseph Mancias, MD, PhD                           
2015 Monik Jiménez, ScD, SM                              
2015 Liza Colimon, MD                                             
2014 Miguel Divo, MD                                               
2014 Nadia Huancahuari, MD                               
2013 Alejandro Diaz, MD, MPH                           
2013 Robert Riviello, MD, MPH                           
2012 Khady Diouf, MD                                               
2012 Ebony Boyce-Cater, MD                               
2012 Rose Kakoza, MD                                              
2011 Corrina Oxford, MD                                        
2011 David Walton, MD  

2010 Daniel Palazuelos, MD, MPH                     
2009 Nora Osman, MD                                              
2009 Audra R. Meadows, MD, MPH
2008 Michael Wilson, MD, PhD
2006 J. Keith Joseph, MD
2006 Christian Arbelaez, MD, MPH
2005 Zara Cooper, MD, MsC
2005 Cheryl Clark, MD, ScD
2004 Thomas Sequist, MD
2003 Arturo Saavedra, MD, PhD
2002 Everett Lyn, MD, MSc
2002 Elizabeth Garner, MD
2001 George Ruiz, MD
2001 LeRoi Hicks, MD, MPH
2001 Michelle Albert, MD
1998 Chinweike Ukomadum, MD, MPH
1998 Collin Stultz, MD, PhD
1996 Christopher Wright, MD, PhD
1996 Eldrin Lewis, MD, MPH

Congratulations to our 2024 MFCDA Winners!

Cinthia Cruz-Romero, MD

Division of Abdominal Imaging and Intervention, Department of Radiology

Camila Lopes-Ramos, PhD

Channing Division of Network Medicine, Department of Medicine

Chiamaka Onwuzurike, MD, MPH

Department of Obstetrics/Gynecology

Bushra W. Taha, MD

Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine

Ritchell van Dams, MD, MHS

Department of Radiation Oncology